Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians, Inc

The founder of the Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians is the Strength and Spirit of Irish Women. For hundreds of years the Irish woman has stood firmly defending her faith, country, and family. Today we hear her through organizations like the L.A.O.H. For 130 years the women of this organization fought to be heard, and we are still going strong. Here is the story of our beginning.

In May of 1894 at the National convention of the Ancient Order of Hibernians in Omaha, Nebraska the Ladies requested that an Auxiliary be formed. The AOH voted and an Auxiliary was established. From 1894, the Auxiliary on the National level was under the leadership of the National Vice President of the AOH. In 1902 an Advisory Board of Ladies Auxiliary was formed. In 1906 the Ladies Auxiliary elected its first National President (LAAOH), Miss Anna C. Malia.

These are the women who have served as our National Presidents.

National Presidents, Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians

1894-1902: Directed by the Ancient Order of Hibernians National Vice President

1902-1906: National Advisory Board - Mrs. Mary Quinn, Illinois, Chairman

1906-1912: Miss Anna C. Malia (later Mrs. Anna Malia Ruddy), Pennsylvania, elected as first National

President, LAAOH

1912-1916: Dr. Ellen Ryan Jolly, Rhode Island

1916-1921: Mrs. Mary F. McWhorter, Illinois

1921-1925: Mrs. Adelia Christy, Ohio

1925-1929: Mrs. Mary Timon Horan, Pennsylvania

1929-1933: Mrs. Mary Martin Silk, Massachusetts

1933-1937: Mrs. Anna K. Bryant, Minnesota

1937-1941: Miss Mary A. Kinsella, Massachusetts

1941-1948: Mrs. Anna M. Carey, New Jersey

1948-1952: Mrs. Lenore Shea, Pennsylvania

1952-1956: Miss Lillian E. Fay, Washington, D.C.

1956-1960: Miss Mary F. Hurley, Massachusetts

1960-1962: Miss Kathleen J. Smith, New York

1962-1964: Mrs. Mary E. Bennett, New Jersey

1964-1966: Miss Doretta McManus, Minnesota

1966-1968: Miss Kathleen C. Roche, Massachusetts

Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians, Inc

1968-1970: Miss Mary L. King, Rhode Island

1970-1972: Miss Rita A. McDonough, Maryland

1972-1974: Mrs. Rita A. Murphy, New York

1974-1976: Mrs. Margaret F. Rust Fastow, New Jersey

1976-1978: Miss Margaret M. Webb, Massachusetts

1978-1980: Mrs. Violet M. Forciea, Minnesota

1980-1982: Miss Sarah E. Murphy, Maryland

1982-1984: Mrs. Zoe J. Foley, California

1984-1986: Miss Sarah E. Murphy, Maryland

1986-1988: Miss Sheila M. Clifford, Connecticut

1988-1990: Mrs. Mary Bradley McEnery, Rhode Island

1990-1992: Miss Dolores E. Voelker, New York

1992-1994: Mrs. Therese A. Kelleher, California

1994-1996: Mrs Kathy Linton, Ohio

1996-1998: Mrs Mary Paglione, New Jersey

1998-2000: Mrs Margaret Cooney, Pennsylvania

2000-2002: Mrs Mary B Dolan, Massachusetts

2002-2004: Mrs Elenore Grimley

2004-2006: Mrs Mary T, Leathem, New York

2006-2008: Mrs Dorothy Weldon, Pennsylvania

2008-2010: Mrs Mary Ryan, Massachusetts

2010-2012: Mrs Margaret Hennessy, New York

2012-2014: Mrs Maureen Shelton, Michigan

2014-2016: Ms. Mary Hogan, New York

2016-2018: Ms. Patricia O'Connell, Illinois

2018-2020: Ms. Carol Sheyer. Ohio

2020-2022: Ms karen Keane, New York

2022-2024: Ms Marilyn Madigan, Ohio

Peggy Cornish, Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians National Irish Historian LAOHNationalHistorian@gmail.com